They always say it’s fine
But I see it go down
They tell me they can swim
But I still watch them drown

If I stopped them from ever diving
And taught them how to float
Would they not have to be fished out
With a net and boat?

If I tossed to them a floatie
To support along the way,
Would they be here will me
To see the light of day?

If I took away that bottle,
and poured it down the drain
would I not being wearing all black
standing in the rain?

If I stood up to the plate
and showed them a new path
would I be here smiling
and not suffering from grief’s wrath?

I want to help them all, I say,
But they all say I can’t
My few measly words,
Can’t be heard over their chant

I try to make them happy,
And fill them with just cheer
Yet they can’t see it my way,
Not as crystal clear

So now I’m stuck standing here
Under this black umbrella
Staring at the tombstone
Of this unlucky fella

If I took away that bottle,
and poured it down the drain
would I not being wearing all black
standing in the rain?

If I stood up to the plate
and showed them a new path
would I be here smiling
and not suffering from grief’s wrath?

I sit here with my mind,
Also drowning in despair
What if I just joined them?
Just didn’t give a care?

My heart is triply broken,
Every single day,
When I see them all leave me,
Like the warmth of May

And the warmth from my heart
Is dying to the cold
Of the lonely drinkers,
who in this game, all fold.

If I took away that bottle,
and poured it down the drain
would I not being wearing all black
standing in the rain?

If I stood up to the plate
and showed them a new path
would I be here smiling
and not suffering from grief’s wrath?

I question my dear motives.
If they are just right,
Maybe that’s why they leave me,
And stick with their own plight

I morph and twist and turn them
To reach to all their minds
And release them from the bottle,
The chains which them, it binds.

I show them all their choices,
The world for them to see
I knew I wasn’t mad,
That this wasn’t just me.

Now we’re all on our paths,
Free on our constrain,
Showing all the others,
How to leave the rain.

Leave a Reply

